Wednesday, 8 July 2015

Understanding the Different Learning Styles using Howard Gardner's Multiple Intelligence

Howard Gardner's Multiple Intelligence

Everyone knows that individuals learn differently. But do you know the different learning styles?

Have you ever gotten frustrated teaching your child(ren)/students and asking:
"Why can't you understand?"
"Why can't you get it?"

If the child is not learning or understanding, then we must change and teach in the way the child understands and learns. 

Dr. Howard Gardner, a professor of education at Harvard University developed the Multiple Intelligence Theory in 1983. He acknowledged that everyone has a different mind and therefore, there must be different learning styles to cater to the different learning needs of  the individual. Thus, he identified 8 kinds of intelligence: 
  1. Linguistic intelligence
  2. Logical-mathematical intelligence
  3. Musical intelligence
  4. Bodily-kinesthetic intelligence
  5. Interpersonal intelligence 
  6. Intrapersonal intelligence
  7. Visual-Spatial intelligence
  8. Naturalistic intelligence

"Eight kinds of intelligence would allow eight ways to teach.”       
     Howard Gardner

Learning about the learning styles in the summarized chart below: 


  1. Love this diagram!! May I use it?

    1. May I use the above? But i'll remove naturalistic learning style